Safe Space Collective is an Oslo-based French-Vietnamese queer collective practicing at the intersection of art, architecture and activism. It was created in 2020 by Bui Quy Son, Paul-Antoine Lucas and Armelle Breuil.
Armelle Breuil (1992, FR) is an engaged architect (DEA/HMONP), feminist and environmental activist.

In 2020, She started her own office ACT! whose focus is on designing with bioclimatic systems, low-tech solutions and sustainable materials. She also co-founded and is a board member of the association JAM aiming to create and promote self-publishing practices.

Armelle studied in Paris, Singapore, and Madrid. She graduated from the École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture Paris-Val de Seine (2017) and École Spéciale d'Architecture (2013).

Paul-Antoine Lucas (1993, FR) is an architect (MArch/HMONP), curator, and teacher. He is a co-founder of the art and architecture practice Exutoire.

He is assistant professor at the Institute of Urbanism and Landscape / Oslo School of Architecture and Design since 2020. He also currently is a curator-in-residence at ROM for kunst og arkitektur, as well as the curator and coordinator of the Oslo Architecture Triennale - Academy 2022 "(RE)ACTING / (EN)ACTING".

Paul-Antoine holds an M.Arch from the Oslo School of Architecture and Design (2018), and a B.Arch from the École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture Paris-Malaquais and the University of Hong Kong (2014).
Bui Quy Son (1993, VN) is an architect (MAA/HMONP), curator, visual artist and designer. He co-founded Exutoire, an art and architecture practice, with Paul-Antoine Lucas in 2019.

He is curator-in-residence at ROM for kunst og arkitektur (2022–2023), and previously held an assistant professor position at the Institute of Architecture / Oslo School of Architecture and Design.

Son graduated with a Master of Arts in Architecture from the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts (2017), and received his B.Arch from the École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture Paris-Malaquais (2014).

Get in touch with us via email or Instagram:
Safe Space is a continuation of the work of many past and present discursive and activist initiatives fighting against systemic oppression and for an equitable world. Though we acknowledge that the work is never done, we would like to take a moment, before picking up the battle anew, to express our deepest gratitude to all the collaborators, contributors, supporters, and the larger community we managed to build around the project, without whom Safe Space would never have been possible.

Thank you to the team at ROM for kunst og arkitektur—Gabrielle Paré, Tina Lam, Gjertrud Steinsvåg, and Olaf Tønnesland Hødne—for giving us a platform and for the tireless support.

Thank you to the sound magicians—sound engineer Xavier Guinois, and musicians Delphine Lam Lewandowski and Vladimir Pecheu (Fleur bleu·e)—who helped us bring the podcast alive and share it with the world.

Thank you to the risograph printing expert Marie Payan (oonda studio) for guiding us through the printing, folding, binding, and cutting process of the zines.

Thank you to the 45 contributors who used their voices, be it through speaking up or writing down, to shape a critical discourse so much needed in architecture, design, and society at large.

And thanks to all the individuals, groups, and institutions with whom we have been in dialogue throughout the making of Safe Space, who wholeheartedly supported and helped finance the project.
Collaborators and contributors
Adèle Labo
Alexander Eriksson Furunes
Alf Jørgen Schnell
Alma Oftedal
Anders N. Kvammen
Anna Aniksdal
Armelle Breuil
Astrid Fadnes
Britta Marakatt-Labba
Bui Quy Son
Clara Triviño Massó
Delphine Lam Lewandowski
Eirik Stokke
Else Abrahamsen
Erik Eikehaug
Espen Heggertveit
Eva Maria Fjellheim
Gabrielle Paré
Gary Bates
Gjertrud Steinsvåg
Håkon Matre Aasarød
Hanna Asefaw
Hanna Dencik Petersson
Jack Hughes
Joar Nango
Jonas Dahlberg
Josina Vink
Juliette Frasie
Leila Sliman
Linh Gling
Lucy Bullivant
Mads Pålsrud
Mahé Cordier-Jouanne
Maisam Mahdi
Máret Ánne Sara
Marie Payan
Matthew Anderson
Mikael Oscar Johansen
Nebil Zaman
Ninthu Paramalingam
Olaf Tønnesland Hødne
Ole Pedersen
Paul-Antoine Lucas
Shivani Prakash
Susanne Normann
Tale Hammerø Ellingvåg
Tess Skadegård Thorsen
Tina Lam
Tu-Uyen Phan-Nguyen
Vilde Vera Viik Vesterlid
Vladimir Pecheu
Xavier Guinois
Ahmed Gad
Agnes Kielland
Andrew Holt
Anne Marte Aure
Annesofie Milner
Axel Borhaven
Borhaven Arkitekter
Camille Tan
Chrisopher Oh
Christian Borhaven
Henning Labrå
Ida Mohn Werner
Ingemar Eirik Traavik Nesheim
Karsten Lunde
Léa Brami
Lena Margrethe Berge
Marion Gardette
Marius Koestler
Martine Johansen
Mira Hahn
Nikhil Vettukattil
Ole Gustavsen
Sajedeh Ahi
Solveig Tjetland
Stina Skavlan
Thomas Holt
Um-Ul-Banin Syed
Vjolla Emiri
Yashar Hanstad
Safe Space is supported by the Arts Council Norway (Kulturrådet), the Freedom of Speech Foundation (Fritt Ord), the Art of Balance (Balansekunst), the Oslo School of Architecture and Design (AHO), Architectopia, Borhaven Arkitekter, Hallstein, and many others.

Typeface by Dinamo
Website by Bui Quy Son (Safe Space Collective)
This website and its content is copyright of Safe Space Collective. All rights reserved.
© 2022 Safe Space Collective
"Safe Space"
Website under development
Available on desktop only

In the meantime
check out our Instagram

or write us an email to

See you soon 💛